Then Stay Tuned For An All New Slowly Rotating Black Man

Writing’s going slowly. My free time is spent dreading time at work and distracting me from reality a bit. I have tomorrow off, so hopefully I’ll get to some writing then. In my head, Cliff’s Part 2 is awesome. I’m hoping it lives up to it on paper.

I recently discovered that Nathan Fillion, the hero of so many Whedon works, has finally found a show where he hasn’t been cancelled – Castle, on ABC. Ever lured by Mal’s inescapable charm, I caught an episode on the Hulu webnets.

It’s… a wonderfully generic show. Maybe I’m spoiled – I only ever see Fillion in Whedon works and there’s always such a personality to those. This feels like pretty much any cop drama, except that one of the cops isn’t one – he’s an author, which gives him the ability to be all zany and wacky and rich. Even his name, Richard Castle, betrays the influence of Gregory House. Not quite as curmudgeonly as House, though he does call a prostitute in the episode. At least when Castle does, it’s to help the case’s progression.

His co-star, Cuddy the detective he’s researching for a book, is Independant Lead Female #24048. At least from the pair of episodes I saw. Like I said, the episode’s wonderfully generic. It’s a fine show, but a tad predictable. Here’s your snark, here’s your sexual tension between leads, et cetera, here’s Nathan Fillion face numbers 1 through 5.

And because Castle is a writer, there are times you can see someone vaguely geeky, in that LA way, sitting at a table with a laptop going, “See, he knows humanity because he writes the human condition! He knows reality better than the police do!”

All this doesn’t stop the show from being entertaining, it just makes it a little transparent at times.

0 Responses to “Then Stay Tuned For An All New Slowly Rotating Black Man”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Most Recent Works

My Other Blog’s Other Blogger’s Other Blog

Become a fan on Facebook

My Life in ≤ 140 Chars:

Header photo by David Reber's Hammer Photography. Many ideas and images copyright Blizzard.
Btn_blue_122x44

