I’m Very Bad at Chess, Too

It’s one of those days when I don’t feel like a grown-up writer. I’m sitting here, plugging away at Always Happy to Serve You, taking my existing writings and adding a couple more auxiliary characters in earlier – folding them in, as a chef would. And I’m thinking about a group of people I’m planning to portray, and I think ‘Wow, someone could get mad at this portrayal. But when you really analyze it, I’m portraying these people as smart and as human beings, so it’s really a good portrayal.’ And then I stop, and I look back, and realize how… high school that sounds. Will I outgrow this? Do real artists still get that feeling, or do I just need to learn to plan ahead more, look into more depth?

EDIT: To prove that I’m not blowing smoke, and that I actually am working on Wilson III, here’s another taste.

Cliff’s Eatery was a mildly successful, unassuming restaurant in Wilson for fifteen years before Clarence Zimmerman started working there at the age of eighteen, and it remained so for two more years until the freshman mayor, Norman Haroldson, had privately mentioned it in passing as having greasy, unredeemably unhealthy food. A local newsman heard about it, reported on it, and then asked owner Clifford Kaplan what he thought. And Clifford Kaplan, in what many considered shrewd and Clarence considered insane, embraced it. He changed unredeemable to shameless, unhealthy to decadent, and kept the greasy, and began playing up the complete disregard for human life contained within his menu. Soon, he introduced the Stentburger, named for the heart procedure and slathered with ketchup, mayo, and cheese. Next came the Cardio Chicken, deep-fried and served with barbeque sauce and bacon. Before all was said and done, there was even the Haroldson, named for the mayor that started it all, a triple burger with cheddar, bacon, and even onion rings right on the sandwich. The monstrosity was immediately popular with the kind of people that backlash against people who generally mind their own business while trying to stay healthy – namely, Wisconsinites.

3 Responses to “I’m Very Bad at Chess, Too”


  1. 1 Lanuria July 9, 2009 at 6:10 AM

    As a writer, you have no regards to emotions and feelings minus the ones you are writing.

    Who cares if someone would get mad? Makes it controversial and people eat that up like someone would eat, well, a Stentburger. It’s understandable you wouldn’t want to write something that would offend someone, but sometimes, the truth will offend. mmhmm.

    I don’t know, it’s 7 am and I’m awake once again. I hope Always Happy to Serve You is up soon. I really look forward to reading some more of Wilson.

    BTW, I would eat that Cardio Chicken.

  2. 2 Taylor Vincent July 10, 2009 at 10:54 AM

    Are you replying to my Tweet… here?


Leave a Reply

Most Recent Works

My Other Blog’s Other Blogger’s Other Blog

Become a fan on Facebook

My Life in ≤ 140 Chars:

Header photo by David Reber's Hammer Photography. Many ideas and images copyright Blizzard.
Btn_blue_122x44

