Liveblogging the Conan

So, I’m at the first commercial break of the new Tonight Show, and I think Conan’s found his stride.

The first couple of episodes felt nervous, but that’s expected. The Tonight Show is an institution, and Conan O’Brien’s comedy style is so much more downright silly than Leno or even back to Carson. Carson had oddball, but that comforting smile with it. Conan has the same silliness, but with a wacky grin instead of a comforting smile. I like it, I think young people like it, but I don’t know if the traditional Tonight Show viewer well.

But screw them.

Tonight, Conan’s hit on what I’ve always felt were his strengths: self-depreciation, as seen in his monologue, and the never-old treatment of Max Weinberg and LaBamba as sexual deviants.

However, now that they’re changing my beloved, beloved In the Year 2000 segment… I’m not as sure.

Oh, wait, the flashlights are back. Thank God.

0 Responses to “Liveblogging the Conan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Most Recent Works

My Other Blog’s Other Blogger’s Other Blog

Become a fan on Facebook

My Life in ≤ 140 Chars:

Header photo by David Reber's Hammer Photography. Many ideas and images copyright Blizzard.
Btn_blue_122x44

