Manifestos are Fun

While discussing my website (in almost too much depth) today in the class I’m using it as a project for, the fact that not everyone knew what a fanfic was came up. I was forced to describe it as writing within an established setting, and the general demeanor of the class made it clear how disdainful public opinion is of this sort of writing. I can understand that, but I think it’s because of a misconception.

When people think fanfics, they tend to think of high-school level ‘What would Kirk do?’ stuff, or else slash fics or otherwise sexual fare. This is probably valid – in sheer volume, it’s probably most of what’s out there. But, at the same time, I don’t think the kind of crap I have on this site is really the same thing as Harry/Snape.

However, calling what I have ‘established-continuity fiction’ or something similar smacks of political correctness and naming things just to feel unique. I’m not exactly a huge fan of that. It’s fiction, made by fans. Fan fiction, fanfic. Boom. I think it’ll just take time for people to realize that ‘fanfic’ as a label can mean a zillion different things. It’s no more an indicator of genre or quality than ‘anime’ is, and yet so many people lump all that together.

Things’ll change eventually. All I have is tiiiiiiiiiiiime.

3 Responses to “Manifestos are Fun”


  1. 1 lanuriaparty May 4, 2009 at 11:13 PM

    my stuff isn’t crap.

    I’m going up there and giving you this cold.


Leave a Reply

Most Recent Works

My Other Blog’s Other Blogger’s Other Blog

Become a fan on Facebook

My Life in ≤ 140 Chars:

Header photo by David Reber's Hammer Photography. Many ideas and images copyright Blizzard.
Btn_blue_122x44

