Doing Well Despite My Best Efforts

Well, I have to remember to change my About page, because I can’t honestly say I’ll never make money from writing now.

I managed to somehow win the Edgewood College Writing Contest this year with A Dark and Stormy Night, and that came with a $100 prize. Which is hot. That same story is also in the Edgewood Review this year, the college’s yearly magazine of art, poetry, and fiction. I consider that extremely well done for a story that I wrote in about three hours immediately before the class period in which it was due.

Enough about me.

Writing’s come slowly of late, but the bug to do more has definitely surfaced, and some of my more stressful responsibilities have been dealt with, so hopefully I now have a chance to breathe. I had a great idea the other day, but then forgot it, which is always fun. The urge to write more slapstick like Varendil Goes to Scourgeholme is strong, but there’s also the super srs Varendil story floating around the back of my mind. Wilson may be on hold until I get a chance to go back to Monroe. Something darker there might be fun. I touch on darkness there in YGTFIJF and while it seemed odd at first, I feel like that story’s a very legitimate Wilson one and the darkness fits in an odd way. If there’s anything M*A*S*H proved, it’s that humor and sadness aren’t just not mutually exclusive, they’re practically the flip sides of the same coin.

0 Responses to “Doing Well Despite My Best Efforts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Most Recent Works

My Other Blog’s Other Blogger’s Other Blog

Become a fan on Facebook

My Life in ≤ 140 Chars:

Header photo by David Reber's Hammer Photography. Many ideas and images copyright Blizzard.
Btn_blue_122x44

