An Ever Deeper Debt

I’ve just finished and posted my latest effort, Varendil Goes to Scourgeholme, and it seems now like every time I write something it comes closer and closer to an inadvertent emulation of the Venture Bros. This story, which I’m actually quite happy with, is full of the ‘stop the action so that two characters can discuss something, then resume action’ that I love and totally ripped off from Venture. I really need to find someone else to emulate before Doc and Jackson send me a cease and desist for constantly associating my things with their greatness.

I originally conjured Wilson to be the place where the unlikely and slapstick happens as part of everyday life, but now it seems to have infiltrated World of Warcraft as well. I can’t tell if this is me being unable to keep my mind in two separate places, or if this sort of smarmy, wink-wink nudge-nudge style is just becoming my own dominant voice. However, in this case, I feel it fits. Varendil is the kind of person that doesn’t panic as a battle gets worse, he just gets more snide and sarcastic – so when he reacts to a death with “Great, now I have to revive you,” I feel like it fits.

Also, I think Malfeasor the Frosted could become a recurring off-screen character.

If I call my characters ‘off-screen,’ does that mean that I’m writing too close to TV, or does it mean that I’m simply using a good metaphor? I may go into the My Writings and TV thing some other time, I think far too much about it and feel like it’s an aspect of my personal style. Whether this information would entertain anyone else, however, is a mystery.

Oh, and I think all of my readers come from her site, so this might be pointless, but Lanuria of Bulky Boots and Hunter Loots has basically pulled off some of the hottest writing I’ve ever seen in the length of a few sentences. I wish I could do that.

Oh, wait, I’m funnier than her. That works.

2 Responses to “An Ever Deeper Debt”


  1. 1 lanuriaparty April 11, 2009 at 8:25 PM

    You’re only funnier because you consume too much media for your own good.

    I can write amazingly hawt things in three sentences.

    I totally win.

    • 2 Taylor April 11, 2009 at 8:30 PM

      Hey! I’m not funny because I steal jokes from people, I’m funny because I’m funny. My craft is more socially acceptable and easily used to perpetrate truth through things like satire.

      All me, baby.


Leave a Reply

Most Recent Works

My Other Blog’s Other Blogger’s Other Blog

Become a fan on Facebook

My Life in ≤ 140 Chars:

Header photo by David Reber's Hammer Photography. Many ideas and images copyright Blizzard.
Btn_blue_122x44

